Book Reviews · Rachel Fordham

Yours Truly, Thomas

Yours Truly, Thomas by Rachel Fordham

Reading has always been my escape, from the time I was young and read ALL the books in the children’s department (yes, ALL) to now. If you saw last week’s post, you know that I’ve been hit emotionally hard with rejection (in several forms) and then some things outside of the writing world which made me just want to escape, and escape big time. Thankfully, my TBR pile is always near at hand. At the top of my pile was Yours Truly, Thomas.

While technically not part of a series, Yours Truly, Thomas takes place in Azure Springs, the setting of The Hope of Azure Springs, and was as delightful as the first novel by Rachel Fordham. If you are a fan of Hallmark’s Sign, Sealed, and Delivered, then you will definitely want to check out this story as the heroine works in the dead letter office.

Genre: Historical Romance, 1883, Washington D.C. and Azure Springs, IA

Plot Overview: 

For three years, Penny Ercanbeck has been opening other people’s mail. Dead ends are a reality for clerks at the Dead Letter Office. Still she dreams of something more–a bit of intrigue, a taste of romance, or at least a touch less loneliness. When a letter from a brokenhearted man to his one true love falls into her hands, Penny seizes this chance to do something heroic. It becomes her mission to place this lost letter into the hands of its intended recipient.

Thomas left his former life with no intention of ending up in Azure Springs, Iowa. He certainly didn’t expect a happy ending after what he had done. All he wanted to do was run and never look back. In a moment of desperation, he began to write, never really expecting a reply.

When Penny’s undertaking leads her to the intriguing man who touched her soul with his words, everything grows more complicated. She wants to find the rightful owner of the letter and yet she finds herself caring–perhaps too much–for the one who wrote it.

What I loved: The concept of the story is one that has been done before, but the actual story was unique and enjoyable. It took you through all the emotions, and had a touch of danger to add a thrill to the read.

Favorite Character: Penny makes me smile. She tries to think things through, but also takes leaps without real clarity on where she will land. She is an emotional mess in some ways (which I can totally relate to right now), but had a deep compassion and love for strangers.

Who would like this: Fans of Hallmark’s Sign, Sealed, and Delivered, those who love stories where letters play a key role, sweet romance, and stories of leaps of faith.

Rating and Why: I gave this a four-star rating because I enjoyed the story and would recommend it to others.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the author/publisher. The review above was influenced in no way by this and the above opinions are my own.

Purchase Links:

Amazon Barnes and Noble Christianbook.com Target Walmart

About Rachel Fordham

A bookworm turned storyteller that loves all things historical but needs an editor for all things technical. A family first, love your life, laugh as you go kind of girl.

Connect with her on her website, Facebook, GoodReads, or BookBub.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s